top of page

Dean Ott/Debbie Boult Award


Nominations are currently being accepted for the Dean Ott/Debbie Boult Award. Deadline for Submission: July 16, 2012.

This annual award has been created to honour a member of Calgary’s theatre community who has made a major contribution or significant achievement in the area of technical production in Calgary. This award is given in recognition of Dean Ott and Debbie Boult. Throughout their lives, Dean and Debbie continually strove for excellence and were regarded as a benchmark for professionalism. The recipient of this award will reflect Dean and Debbie’s passion for their craft.

Criteria for nomination:

  • Must be a Calgary resident who has continuously striven for excellence in his/her craft;

  • Will have the qualities of professionalism, cooperation, self-discipline and strong work ethic;

  • May be awarded for an outstanding season of work, individual achievement, or a sustained contribution to the community;

  • Areas of specialization may include, but are not restricted to: stage management, stage carpentry, production management, running crew, wardrobe, lighting or sound technician.

The nominator will elaborate on the manner in which the candidate meets the above criteria. Additional letters of testimony will be accepted to a maximum submission of ten pages total.

The recipient will be chosen from among the nominees by a jury consisting of past recipients plus other industry professionals, as selected by the Betty Mitchell Awards Steering Committee. The successful nominee will be recognized at the Betty Mitchell Awards, August 27, 2012, which celebrate Calgary’s professional theatre community.

Previous recipients have included: Tom McCarthy, Colin McCracken, Monty Schneider, Dianne Goodman, Brad & Ellen Leavitt, Lance Olson, Tracey Hooper, Darcy Foggo, Ian Wilson, Brian Beaulieu, Terri Gillis, Wes Jenkins, Susan McNair Reid, and Kira Campbell.

To submit a nominee, please mail to:

Betty Mitchell Awards, Re: Dean Ott/Debbie Boult Award PO Box 924 Station T Calgary, AB T2H 2H4

or email to: Subject Line: Dean Ott/Debbie Boult Award.

Photo by Brent Calis

bottom of page