top of page

Dean Ott/Debbie Boult Award


The Dean Ott/Debbie Boult Award (Honouring Outstanding Achievement in Technical Production)

This annual award has been created to honour a member of Calgary’s theatre community who has made a major contribution or significant achievement in the area of technical production in Calgary. This award is given in recognition of Dean Ott and Debbie Boult. Throughout their lives, Dean and Debbie continually strove for excellence and were regarded as a benchmark for professionalism. The recipient of this award will reflect Dean and Debbie’s passion for their craft.

Criteria for nomination:

  • Must be a Calgary resident who has continuously striven for excellence in his/her craft;

  • Will have the qualities of professionalism, cooperation, self-discipline and strong work ethic;

  • May be awarded for an outstanding season of work, individual achievement, or a sustained contribution to the community;

  • Areas of specialization may include, but are not restricted to: stage management, stage carpentry, production management, running crew, wardrobe, lighting or sound technician.

The nominator will elaborate on the manner in which the candidate meets the above criteria. Additional letters of testimony will be accepted to a maximum submission of ten pages total.

The recipient will be chosen from among the nominees by a jury consisting of past recipients, plus other industry professionals, as selected by the Betty Mitchell Awards Steering Committee. The successful nominee will be recognized at the Betty Mitchell Awards, August 24, 2009, which celebrate Calgary’s professional theatre community.

Previous recipients have included: Colin McCracken (stage manager), Monty Schneider (production manager), Dianne Goodman (production stage manager), Brad & Ellen Leavitt (technicians/stage managers), Lance Olsen (technician/stage carpenter), Tracey Hooper (dresser/wardrobe head), Darcy Foggo (assistant stage manager), Ian Wilson (production manager/stage carpenter), Brian Beaulieu (production manager), Terri Gillis (production stage manager), and Wes Jenkins (production/facility).

Previous nominees who have not received the award may be resubmitted.

Deadline for application: June 30, 2009.

Please mail to:

Betty Mitchell Awards

Re: Dean Ott/Debbie Boult Award

PO Box 924 Station T

Calgary, AB T2H 2H4

For more information, or to submit a nominee, please contact the Chair of the Jury, Trevor Rueger at 403.862.8953 or

bottom of page